Criminal Sexual Contact Charges in NJ -- Definition, Laws, Penalties, and Attorney Defenses
Find the good stuff
Laws on dating a minor in new jersey. Published: They are already having a tough time taking care of you, more than likely, and now you want them to also take care of your baby? In most states, the travel or transportation of a minor over state lines with the intention of engaging in sexual activity is in itself a . 19 Feb Although the judge can't order restraining orders for minors, you can still be charged with domestic violence in New Jersey if you are under the age of qualify as acts of domestic violence; Minors who are in a dating relationship with someone over the age of eighteen may qualify for restraining orders. My friend is dating a 17 year old and he's I'm trying to tell That's the extenuating circumstances of the NJ law but if your friend who is 23 met the 17 year old at the mall, then it is in fact perfectly legal . While the sex is legal, what they can always get him on is contributing to the delinquency of a minor.
By Monica SteinerContributing Author. In New Jersey, it is illegal for an adult someone 18 or older to have sex with a minor someone 16 or youngereven if the sex is consensual. Those who break the law have committed statutory rape. Statutory rape laws are premised on the assumption that minors are incapable of giving more info consent to sexual activities.
The age of consent can vary among states, and some states differentiate between consensual sex between minors who are close in age for example, two teenagers of the same ageas opposed to sex between a minor and a much older adult.
A knowledgeable attorney can assist in reviewing the facts of your case and help ensure your rights are protected. My 17 year old daughter was under the home supervision of the New Jersey Intensive Supervision Program. See a Lawyer If you are facing a statutory rape charge, consider consulting with an experienced criminal defense attorney who regularly practices in your area. Connect with us on Facebook!
Though statutory rape does not require that the prosecutor prove an assault, it is still rape. Penalties depend on the ages of the defendant and victim and the conduct that occurred, as described below. This offense incurs between ten and 20 years in prison.
Domestic Violence, Part Two: Minors and the Law
It also includes sexual penetration between a minor who is 13, 14, or 15 and a defendant who is at least four years older than the victim. This offense incurs between five and ten years in prison. This offense incurs up to 18 months in prison. State law requires, in addition to the applicable fines and prison time, that people convicted of certain sexual crimes including statutory rape must register as sex offenders. In New Jersey, there is read article Romeo and Juliet exemption for consensual sex between a minor who is at least 13 and someone who is fewer than four years older.
Do age of consent laws work?
Defendants accused of statutory rape often claim that they had no reason to know that their partner was underage. They may argue that the victim herself represented that she was older than she was, and that a reasonable person would have believed her.
The police help mother and daughter go through the steps to obtain a temporary restraining order. This means the court must first find that you're responsible, independent, able-bodied, not attending school, not on public assistance, not in need of financial support, no longer relying on your parents for medical insurance, mad money, driving you around, cooking your food, buying you stuff, walking your dog, cleaning your room, providing you with physical, emotional or psychological support, Click the map to view any state's age of consent laws. Since maturity varies from person to person, when it comes to assigning an age for attaining legal capacitystates must draw a line somewhere -- even if it is somewhat arbitrary.
But as in most states, mistake of age is not a defense in New Jersey. If you are facing a statutory rape charge, consider consulting with an experienced criminal defense attorney who regularly practices in your area.
A lawyer can often negotiate with the prosecutor for a lesser charge or a reduction in read article such as, for example, probation instead of prison time ; and will know how prosecutors and judges typically handle cases like yours. The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site.
Sign up to get your own personalized Reddit experience!
The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. In some states, the information on this website may be considered a lawyer referral service.
New Jersey Statutory Rape Laws. Statutes governing New Jersey's age of consent, associated criminal charges, available defenses, and penalties for conviction.
Sex Offender Registration State law requires, in addition to the applicable fines and prison time, that people convicted of certain sexual crimes including statutory rape must register as sex offenders.
Mistake of age Defendants accused of statutory rape often claim that they had no reason to know that their partner was underage.
See a Lawyer If you are facing a statutory rape charge, consider consulting with an experienced criminal defense attorney who regularly practices in your area. Share on Google Plus. Talk to a Lawyer. Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you. Practice Area Please select How it Works Briefly tell us about your case Provide your contact information Choose attorneys to contact you.
How It Works Briefly tell us about your case Provide your contact information Choose attorneys to contact you. Sales Sales Affiliates Library Trade.