iOS 7 Call Block Demo
What happens to a blocked call?
Think someone has blocked your number on their iPhone? Here's how to find out why your calls aren't being answered. By David Price | 09 Aug Call blocking was one of the simplest but most convenient new features added to iPhones as part of the iOS 7 update back in We explain how this works in our guide on . It is really easy to block someone on your iPhone, this helps in blocking spammers and telemarketers. However, it is not uncommon for regular folks to be blocked on iPhone, either intentionally or by accident. In this post you will find effective tips to find out if Someone Has Blocked Your Phone Number on iPhone. Find if. 5 Feb A MacRumors video explains exactly what happens after you press "Block Contact.".
Here is another way of confirming whether or not someone has blocked your Phone Number on iPhone. Also, the contact won't get a notification that the call or message was blocked. Learn more If you want to prevent calls only temporarily, you can use Do Not Disturb. In both cases we the caller did not hear any rings at all: Everything proceeded roughly as usual:
If you can't phone someone or they don't reply to your text messages, it's possible they have blocked you. First off, you're probably being paranoid, and shouldn't worry - but if the idea is really bothering you, there are a few giveaway signs.
What happens when you block someone on your iPhone - BI
Also, we should come out and admit that there isn't a way that we know of to find out for sure if you've been blocked, beyond getting hold of your friend's iPhone and checking the blocked list. If you discover a method, do let us know, but we can't see why Apple would make this information available to the blockee.
To test what happens to a blocked call, we blocked a number and monitored the experience on both phones. The caller is then informed that the recipient isn't available, and is diverted to voicemail if that service is set up by the person you're calling. You can leave a message even if someone has blocked you.
Hands-On iOS 7 Messages - Block Contacts And New Design - New Features
Texting someone who's blocked you works as you would expect. The message sends as normal, and you don't get an error message. This is no help at all for clues.
If you're using an iPhone yourself, you used to be able to get a clue as to whether someone has blocked you by sending an iMessage. The iMessage would attempt to send, but after a couple of minutes it would resend as a text message that would never be received by the person who blocked you.
Now, though, Apple has updated iOS so that in iOS 9 or laterif you try to send an iMessage to someone who blocked you, it'll immediately say 'Delivered' and remain blue which means it's still an iMessage. However, the person you've been blocked by will never receive that message.
The call is the best source of evidence.
If I block someone, will they know it? ..And are their iMessages still retrievable?
The key here is that you will always be diverted to voicemail after exactly one ring - if they were declining your call the number of rings would vary each time and if more info phone was switched off, it wouldn't ring at all. If they were using Do Not Disturb, it would ring as normal, only silently - and of course bear in mind that one Do Not Disturb setting allows the user to specify that repeated calls are allowed through - so you could always try again right away.
Just make sure your call is urgent, or they may block you for real this time!
Your Contact may ignore the Call. Now try calling the Contact a few more times and see whether your calls are being diverted to the Voice Mail, every time you try to call the Phone Number of your Contact. Start a Discussion in Apple Support Communities. You can assume that your Phone Number has most likely been blocked by a Contact, in case the Contact Name or the Phone Number does not appear as a suggested Contact, when you try to address the new message to this Contact.
Finally, though, we would like to repeat that this isn't an exact science, so don't make any angry scenes without knowing for sure. If they've blocked your number, hey, who needs them?